So-so brownies and only myself to blame

I should and will preface this post by saying, I must have done something wrong.

Peanut Butter and Fleur de Sel Brownies. Has anything ever sounded more promising? Unless you’re allergic to peanuts, then your answer should be “never.” So imagine my dismay when I practically (ahem) followed this recipe to a T and found the result to be, frankly, slightly less than OK.

My problem area was certainly the brownie. I think I either left it in the oven too long or used the wrong kind of cocoa because it was a little on the dry side and kind of bitter. I still have a raw variety of cocoa leftover from our first attempt into food blogging and I used it in this recipe, but maybe I should just give up the ghost on the raw stuff and lay down the $3.59 for some natural or Dutch-processed cocoa. We’ll see.

Anyway, making this led me back to this helpful post on the difference between various kinds of cocoas and cocoa’s purpose in recipes. Maybe you’ll find it useful if you give this recipe a shot. If you do, will you let me know how it turns out?

2 responses to “So-so brownies and only myself to blame

  1. Pingback: Gluten-free peanut butter brownies | Shitty Photos of OK Food·

Leave a Reply

