The summer banana dilemma

Q1. How many bananas are in your freezer right now?
Q2. How many are on your counter, spotty and dotted with fruit flies?

I’ll leave you to answer those questions in private, but do you know who you have to blame? Summer. Making fruit riper from time immemorial, Summer is almost single-handedly populating my freezer (and probably yours; refer back to Question 1) with phase 7 bananas. I’m tired of it, but I know that there isn’t much I can do prevention-wise. So, what to do now? Knock a couple (or four) into a bowl and whip up a banana loaf.

I’m not so mad at Summer anymore since there are only three bananas left in my freezer – and I suspect they won’t be there long; I’ll be making this recipe again.

Ingredients

  • 4 small bananas at room temperature (about 300g if you have a scale)
  • 200g dark brown sugar (about 1 cup)
  • 2tbsp strong coffee
  • 125ml oil (~1/2 cup; I used a mixture of sunflower and olive oil)
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 1tbsp minced ginger
  • 200g whole wheat cake flour (just over 1.5cups)
  • 3tsp baking powder

Recipe (adapted from one of Dan Lepard’s many great banana cake recipes, the dark banana ginger cake)

  1. Preheat the oven to 335F and line bottom of loaf pan with parchment.
  2. In a big bowl, whisk the bananas with the sugar for a few minutes, until smooth.
  3. Beat in the coffee, ginger, oil, and eggs.
  4. Stir in the flour and baking powder until just combined.
  5. Pour the mixture into the pre-lined pan and put in the oven until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. It took mine about 80 minutes, but Dan Lepard suggests checking around 40 so I’d do as he says to avoid any kitchen fires.
4 responses to “The summer banana dilemma

  1. I have zero in my freezer right now! The last two bananas I bought I ate as soon as I got out of the grocery store. I know I know, I should never go shopping when hungry but sometimes I just get hungry…

    • 9! Wow! Sounds like you need to make even more banana cake than me! Do you have that recipe from your grandma? The one Tete mentioned? I’d love to try that out, too!

Leave a Reply

