Blueberry Lemon Poppyseed ‘Muffins’

These are not muffins. Do not be fooled. They are mini cakes with lots of butter and the blueberries do not make them wholesome. But why would you want wholesome, when you can have the soft fluffiness tinged with buttery crunch? And topped with a smooth cap of lemony icing…

I’m glad I’m not writing this from home or I’d be reaching for another…

To create this unholy goodness, I combined two seperate lemon blueberry ‘muffin’ recipes (their words not mine) to get exactly the level of decadence that was necessary. At first I thought, hmm, maybe I should sneak in some whole wheat, perhaps some yougurt? But why use fat-free dairy if you plan on negating it with butter?

Well, here’s what I did (base from Bashful Bao, icing from My Baking Addiction). If you did feel like health-ing it up, you could swap yogurt for buttermilk, some whole-wheat for white, apple sauce for the butter… but then you might as well look for a more virtuous recipe.

Cake base:
6 tablespoons butter (melted)
1/3 cup buttermilk
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
1 1/2 cup blueberries

Icing:
3 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon warm water
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 cup icing sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Doing:
Melt the butter on med-low heat in a small pan on the stovetop. When it is fully melted, remove from heat and let cool slightly. Meanwhile, combine the milk, egg and yolk, and vanilla extract in a medium bowl. Once the butter is not longer hot, add to the milk mixture and stir to combine. In a seperate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Then add the milk mixture to the dry ingredients with minimal stirring. Fold in the blueberries, poppy-seeds and zest.

As for the icing, I have to confess that I started out with this recipe, but modified it as I went and I don’t really remember what I ended up adding. I found that it wasn’t lemony enough for my liking, so I added more lemon juice, then more icing sugar, then still more lemon juice, then more icing sugar… you get the idea.
Of course I ended up with three times as much as icing I needed, but that was a burden I bravely bore alone.

Leave a Reply

